Shop By Type
Travel Packages
  Why subscribe with us?
Brief Description of our Products
Himalayan Handicrafts
General Information about Nepal
Buddhist Educational Resources Center
Articles And Journals
Buy Buddha Statues
Buy Bodhisattvas Statues
Buy Ancient Crafts
thanka or thangka

The Himalayas of Nepal cover three fourths of the land in Nepal. Nepal himalayas contain nine of the world's fourteen highest mountain peaks, Nepal is a true Himalayan kingdom. It is home to some of the highest, remotest, most rugged and most difficult terrain in the world. The Himalayas or "abode of snow" is in fact the youngest and highest mountain system in the world. It extends over 2,400kms as a vast south-facing area between the Indus and Brahmaputra rivers with Nanga Parbat (8,125m) and Namcha Barwa (7,755m) as its terminal high points. Fully a third of 800kms of its central section traverses Nepal and is known as the Nepal Himalayas, Here congregate more than 250 peaks that exceed 6,000m in height-a unique concentration of lofty dazzling summits. Containing nine of the world's fourteen highest mountain peaks, Nepal is a true Himalayan kingdom. Of the thirty one Himalayan peaks over 7,600m, twenty-two like in Nepal The loftiest peak in the world -- Mount Everest -- and other high peaks like Lhotse, Nuptse, Annapurna, Dhaulagiri and Manaslu, plus the presence of some exquisitely beautiful trekking routes, attract hundreds of thousands of people from all over the world to this lovely Himalayan destination.

The country of Nepal can be divided into three parallel bands running from the northeast towards the southwest. Along the north of Nepal runs the Great Himalayan Range, the highest mountain range in the Himalayan system. This range has an average altitude of about 4,570 m (about 15,000 ft) and remains perpetually snow-covered. On this range rise some of the loftiest mountain peaks in the world -- Mount Everest, Kanchenjunga, Lhotse, Makalu, Cho Oyu, Dhaulagiri, Manaslu, and Annapurna

The Himalayan range within Nepal fits into a geographic pattern as the culmination of a series of parallel ranges. The main mountain region, represented by the eternal ranges, lies about 90kms north of the Mahabharat Lekh. The intervening space between the two parallel ranges is made up of the lower belt of the low hills (Pahar) and the higher belt of elevated ridges (Lekh) that provide the first intimation of the high snow continuous range but rather a chain of lofty ridges separated by deep gorges. Each of these mountain chains or Himals in turn sends out a maze of spurs studded with numerous peaks.

In the western and central Nepal, there is yet another mountain range that defines the boundary between Nepal and China. This border range has elevations ranging from 5,000 to 6,000m with comparatively less rugged relief but a harsh climate. Between the main Himalayan range and these border ranges lie some of the elevated Bhot Valleys.

Much of the high country above 5,000m is under the realm of snow and ice although the permanent snow line may vary according to aspect and gradient. Winter snowfall occurs up to an elevation of 2,000m and is much heavier in the western part. While winter is harsh and bitter, summer is the season of alpine flowers and is the time of the year when the high pastures teem with grazing animals from lower valleys. For the mountain communities, it is the time for harvesting their main crop before their winter migration to warmer climates.

List of higest eight Nepal himalayas.

Sagarmatha(Mt. Everest)








Cho Oyu








Search Products
Search by price:
Range: US$ to US$
My Shopping Basket
Items : 0
Sub total : US$ 0.00
Checkout - View cart detail
Select Language
Select Language
Best Seller
Grape Pashmina Shawl
Price: US$ 71.43
Start with your budget
$5 and under
$5 - $15
$15 - $30
$30 - $60
$60 - $100
$100 and above
Tell a friend
Tell a friend and win exciting gifts...
Click here to learn more.
cashmere carpet
Copyright © 2004 All rights reserved